Finance Law: everything you need to know about the widespread use of electronic invoicing in France in 2024-2026

Today, more than 2 billion invoices are issued and exchanged in France each year, a number of which are issued electronically. This figure is expected to rise rapidly from 2024 onwards following the entry into force of the 2020 Finance Act. Article 153 makes electronic invoicing, or "e-invoicing", compulsory for commercial activities between companies.

It should be noted that the obligation to send invoices in electronic format has already been in force since1 January 2020 for exchanges between companies and the public sector.

The main purpose of this law is to reduce VAT fraud, but also to reduce the costs of transferring declarations and, above all, of processing invoices. It also allows the tax authorities to have a real-time view of the situation of businesses. In this article, we reveal everything you need to know about the Finance Act 2020.

Loi-Finances

Electronic invoicing: definition

Electronic invoicing is the automated creation, exchange and processing of charges between suppliers and buyers. The invoice is transmitted, processed and archived electronically and in a secure and readable format. Electronic invoices include, as with paper, all the mandatory information that makes them an official document.

However, be careful not to confuse the dematerialised invoice with the digitised paper invoice. The latter document has no value for the tax authorities. 

The benefits of electronic invoicing

Electronic invoicing offers many advantages:

Reduced risk of error: thanks to the automation of invoice processing, the risk of error related to manual steps is considerably reduced.

Faster payment: the automated processing of invoices reduces the validation time and therefore makes payment faster than with a paper invoice.

A secure procedure: Switching from paper to electronic documents makes it easier to find documents and above all to control the management process and access to data.

Real-time visibility of cash flow: electronic invoicing provides a precise view of cash flow at any given time. Accounting managers can accurately monitor incoming and outgoing flows with less delay than with paper invoices.

 

 

The guide to understanding and anticipating the generalisation of electronic invoicing in 2023

Finance Act: the objectives of the 2024-2026 regulations

Finance law: a long term project

The Finance Law, which introduces the obligation for companies to switch to electronic invoicing, was prompted by the European directive of 13 July 2010. This directive amends the 2006 VAT directive and lays the foundations for electronic invoicing in the EU countries.

At the same time, numerous reforms have been adopted at international level in the context of Continuous TransactionControls. The Finance Law was introduced to combat VAT fraud. In particular, Article 153 of the Finance Act 2020 introduces the generalisation of electronic invoicing between businesses by 2024/2026.

The latter has already been implemented in the context of B2G relations in France via the Chorus platform, but also in Europe thanks to Directive 2014/55/EU, which obliges EU countries to be able to receive electronic invoices.

Dematerialisation of B2B invoices: the objectives of the Finance Act

The generalisation of electronic invoicing at BtoB level has several objectives:

  • Increasing the competitiveness of businesses: electronic invoicing greatly reduces the time needed to process and manage invoices and thus reduces administrative costs related to accounting. According to the government, the switch to electronic invoicing should save at least €4.5 billion.
  • Fighting VAT fraud : VAT fraud represents approximately 15 billion euros of losses each year for the French State. The switch to all-electronic systems should therefore enable it to refine its control tools and better combat this phenomenon.
  • Improving knowledge of company activities: real-time feedback on company activities enables the administration to gain a better understanding of companies and thus to adjust actions in terms of control and economic and fiscal policy.
  • Facilitate VAT returns : businesses save time on their returns thanks to pre-filling.

 

Finance Law and generalisation of electronic invoicing: what will change by 2024/2026

By 2026, all French companies, from very small businesses to large groups, will have to adopt electronic invoicing and the digital transmission of data in their exchanges.

In order to set up this organisation, two solutions were originally envisaged:

The V-model: this consists of sending all the vendor's invoices via the public Chorus platform. This platform transmits the documents to the client and the administration. Note that the link between the vendor and Chorus can also be made via a private platform.

The Y model: This involves the direct exchange of invoices between companies, using authorised private platforms. The latter must also be able to extract information for the tax authorities and transmit it to Chorus.

 

In a report published in November 2020, the Directorate General of Public Finances (DGFIP) wanted to encourage the implementation of the "Y" model. Among the arguments in favour of this solution is the possibility of retaining the electronic invoice exchanges already in place by certain companies.

Another important element noted by the Council of Ministers on 15 September 2021 is the timetable:

  • 1 July 2024: Obligation for all to be able to receive electronic invoices.
  • 1 July 2024: Obligation to issue electronically for large companies.
  • 1 January 2025: Requirement for TSEs to issue electronically
  • 1 January 2026: Obligation to issue electronically for SMEs

 

So don't be late, it's already time to anticipate the entry into force of this law by choosing tools that meet the requirements of the new law. Freedz is a collaborative platform that allows customers and their suppliers to exchange electronic invoices in a secure manner. A solution that is perfectly adapted to the forthcoming legal constraints on electronic invoicing.

 

Other articles you may be interested in:
Overview of electronic invoicing in Europe

Overview of electronic invoicing in Europe

In line with European recommendations, the use of e-invoicing for B2G transactions has grown significantly in Europe. Indeed, Directive 2014/55/EU requires public entities to be able to receive electronic...

read more
Share This

Loi Finances : tout savoir sur la généralisation de la facture électronique en France en 2024-2026

Aujourd’hui, plus de 2 milliards de factures sont émises et échangées en France chaque année, dont un certain nombre par voie électronique. Cela devrait vite progresser à partir de 2024 suite à l’entrée en vigueur de la loi des finances 2020. L’article 153 rend, en effet, obligatoire la facture électronique, ou « e-invoicing », pour les activités commerciales entre entreprises.

A noter que l’obligation d’envoi des factures au format électronique est déjà en vigueur depuis le 1er janvier 2020 pour les échanges entre les entreprises et le secteur public.

Cette loi a principalement pour but de réduire les fraudes à la TVA mais aussi de diminuer les coûts de transfert des déclarations et surtout de traitement des factures. Cela permet également à l’administration fiscale d’avoir une vue en temps réel de la situation des entreprises. Dans cet article, nous vous dévoilons tout ce qu’il faut savoir sur la Loi Finances 2020.

Loi-Finances

Facturation électronique : définition

La facturation électronique consiste en la création, l’échange et le traitement automatisés des frais entre fournisseurs et acheteurs. La facture est transmise, traitée et archivée électroniquement et sous un format sécurisé et lisible. Les factures électroniques comportent, comme pour le papier, toutes les mentions obligatoires qui en font un document officiel.

Attention néanmoins à ne pas confondre la facture dématérialisée avec la facture papier numérisée. Ce dernier document n’a pas de valeur pour l’administration fiscale. 

Les avantages de la facturation électronique

La facturation électronique offre de très nombreux avantages :

La réduction des risques d’erreur : grâce à l’automatisation du traitement des factures, le risque d’erreur lié aux étapes manuelles est considérablement restreint.

Un paiement plus rapide : le traitement automatisé des factures permet de diminuer les délais de validation et donc de rendre le versement plus rapide par rapport à une facture papier.

Une procédure sécurisée : Le passage du papier à l’électronique permet de retrouver plus facilement les documents et surtout de contrôler le processus de gestion et l’accès aux données.

Une visibilité en temps réel sur la trésorerie : la facturation électronique offre une vision précise à un instant T sur la trésorerie. Les responsables comptabilité peuvent ainsi suivre avec exactitude les flux d’entrée et de sortie avec un délai moindre que pour les factures papier.

 

 

Le guide pour comprendre et anticiper la généralisation de la facture électronique en 2023

Loi Finances : les objectifs de la réglementation 2024-2026

Loi finance : un projet de longue haleine

La Loi Finance, qui instaure l’obligation de passer à la facturation électronique pour les entreprises, est née de la directive européenne du 13 juillet 2010. Cette dernière modifie la directive TVA de 2006 et pose les bases de la facturation électronique dans les pays de l’UE.

Parallèlement, de nombreuses réformes ont été adoptées au niveau international dans le cadre du contrôle périodique et continu des transactions « Continuous Transaction Controls ». La Loi Finance a été instaurée pour lutter contre la fraude à la TVA. C’est tout particulièrement l’article 153 de la Loi des Finances 2020 qui instaure la généralisation de la facturation électronique entre entreprises à l’horizon 2024/2026.

Cette dernière a déjà été mise en place dans le cadre des relations B2G en France via la plateforme Chorus mais également en Europe grâce à la Directive 2014/55/EU qui oblige les États de l’UE à être en mesure de recevoir des factures électroniques.

Dématérialisation des factures B2B : les objectifs de la loi Finances

La généralisation de la facture électronique au niveau BtoB a plusieurs objectifs :

  • Augmenter la compétitivité des entreprises: la facture électronique réduit fortement le temps de traitement et de gestion des factures et donc diminue les coûts administratifs liés à la comptabilité. Selon le gouvernement, le passage à la facturation électronique devrait faire gagner au moins 4,5 milliards d’euros.
  • Lutter contre la fraude à la TVA : la fraude à la TVA représente environ 15 milliards d’euros de pertes chaque année pour l’État français. Le passage au tout électronique doit donc lui permettre d’affiner ses outils de contrôles et de mieux lutter contre ce phénomène.
  • Améliorer la connaissance sur les activités des entreprises: la remontée en temps réel des activités de l’entreprise permet à l’administration de mieux connaître les entreprises et ainsi d’ajuster les actions en matière de contrôle et de politique économique et fiscale.
  • Faciliter les déclarations de TVA : les entreprises gagnent du temps sur leurs déclarations grâce au pré-remplissage.

 

Loi Finance et généralisation de la facture électronique : ce qui va changer à l’horizon 2024/2026

D’ici à l’horizon 2026, toutes les entreprises françaises, des TPE aux grands groupes, devront adopter la facturation électronique et la transmission numérique des données dans leurs échanges.

Afin de mettre en place cette organisation, deux solutions étaient envisagées à l’origine :

Le modèle en V : il consiste à faire transiter toutes les factures du vendeur par la plateforme publique Chorus. Celle-ci assure la transmission des documents au client ainsi qu’à l’administration. À noter que la liaison entre le vendeur et Chorus peut également se faire via une plateforme privée.

Le modèle en Y : Il s’agit ici d’échanger les factures directement entre entreprises, en passant par des plateformes privées habilitées. Ces dernières devront en parallèle être capables d’extraire les informations à destination de l’administration fiscale et de les transmettre à Chorus.

 

À l’occasion d’un rapport rendu en novembre 2020, la Direction générale des Finances publiques (DGFIP) a souhaité encourager la mise en place du modèle en « Y ». Parmi les arguments en faveur de cette solution, la possibilité de conserver les échanges de factures électroniques déjà mis en place par certaines entreprises.

Autre élément important acté par le Conseil des ministres du 15 septembre 2021, le calendrier :

  • 1er juillet 2024 : Obligation pour tous d’être en capacité de recevoir des factures électroniques.
  • 1er juillet 2024 : Obligation d’émettre de façon électronique pour les Grandes entreprises.
  • 1er janvier 2025 : Obligation d’émettre de façon électronique pour les ETI
  • 1er janvier 2026 : Obligation d’émettre de façon électronique pour les PME/TPE

 

Alors ne soyez pas en retard, il est déjà l’heure d’anticiper l’entrée en vigueur de cette loi en choisissant des outils qui répondent aux exigences de la nouvelle loi. Freedz est une plateforme collaborative qui permet aux clients et à leurs fournisseurs d’échanger des factures électroniques de manière sécurisée. Une solution qui s’adapte parfaitement aux contraintes légales à venir en matière de facturation électronique.

 

Autres articles qui pourraient vous intéresser :
Qu’est-ce que l’imputation comptable ?

Qu’est-ce que l’imputation comptable ?

L'imputation comptable correspond à la classification de chaque opération comptable dans l'une des huit grandes catégories prédéfinies par le Plan Comptable Général (PCG). Cette technique permet d'affecter la classification appropriée à chaque mouvement comptable,...

lire plus
Share This