Accounts Payable: a plea to end manual invoice management

Processing accounting data is time-consuming, regardless of the size of the company. One of the most time-consuming tasks is undoubtedly the entry of supplier invoices.

Between time allocation, handling contingencies, lost information, transfers and approval requests, the time spent on managing invoicing is colossal. As an accounting professional, you're probably already convinced that technology can help you reduce the time you spend on these tasks. But what about your management?

As an accountant, here are all the arguments you need to convince your management that accounting is also a department that can be effectively digitised.

Supplier accounting advocacy

1 - Automatic collection of supplier invoices and data

Despite the many accounting management tools available, many companies are struggling to go paperless. When they manage to digitise their invoicing, it is often on the collection and validation side that they still lose the most time. Finally, in many cases, manual invoice management is often indispensable.

Indeed, without a management tool for the automatic processing or extraction of invoicing data, the interest of dematerialisation is less.

However, there are several ways to go further:

  • Automatic document reading: also known as ADR or OCR, this solution is very widespread and makes it possible to extract key information from an invoice or an accounting document almost automatically, such as amounts, date, VAT, etc. However, it has a weak point: the extraction of this data requires human validation.
  • Electronic invoicing tool: this is an electronically generated document that complies with all the legal rules on invoicing. The document is stored in a so-called "structured" format and is automatically read by invoice management software, which can extract, sort and filter the information without any manual intervention. This is the most successful solution in terms of automation.
The guide to understanding and anticipating the generalisation of electronic invoicing in 2023

2 - Supplier accounting: what about cutting costs?

The automation of management also represents a significant financial gain. Indeed, even if the purchase or the subscription to the solution can represent, in the short term, a significant investment for the company, the latter will be able to note a fast return on investment.

According to anErnst & Young study from 2020, it costs an average of 15 euros to process a paper invoice, while a dematerialised invoice costs around 5 euros. By choosing to digitise supplier accounting, you can therefore divide the costs associated with invoice management by three. It is therefore easy to imagine the financial gain that this can represent on a large scale.

 

3 - Supplier accounting: dematerialising to gain in speed

Numerous studies have shown that dematerialising invoices reduces processing time by an average of 75%. This management of time and time-consuming tasks is a strong argument to put forward to a manager. But it is not the only one. Automated data entry and control, a smoother validation process, a reduction in the time taken to process disputes and the time taken to pay suppliers are also among the many benefits of automation.

Many companies have embarked on digital transformation but some have not yet succeeded in optimising all their processes. Indeed, the main objective of digital transformation is to improve business performance by automating the most time-consuming and low-value-added tasks. The manual management of invoices is a major area for improvement. Automation allows employees to refocus on their core business in order to carry out tasks that require real expertise.

In addition, the timely payment of supplier invoices is particularly important as it can help you to avoid late payment penalties or even negotiate discounts for early payment.

 

4 - More security in the processes

This is no longer true. The paper processing of supplier invoices requires numerous steps (printing, scanning, sorting, archiving, etc.) during which the rate of error, loss and degradation of documents can also be significant.

The dematerialisation of invoices and automation provide additional security for several reasons:

  • Reduction of the steps between collection and payment of the bill,
  • Automation of data collection and extraction,
  • Streamlining of validation circuits,
  • Automatic checks to ensure the authenticity and reliability of the invoice,
  • Reliable storage and archiving

The risk of fraud and disputes and the costs associated with them are thus considerably reduced.

To conclude

In conclusion, the dematerialization of invoices is more essential than ever, particularly in view of the obligations imposed on companies by 2026 (postponement of the entry into force originally planned for 2024, see our article on this subject). At the same time, the move to a dematerialized invoice solution is often driven by accounting departments. They are looking for tools that will free up their time to focus on tasks with higher added value for the company.

In short, if you had to remember only 4 arguments to convince your management, they would be :

  • More time freed up for value-added tasks,
  • Less errors, less risk of litigation or fraud,
  • Less document and data loss,
  • More room for negotiation with your interlocutors

Other articles you may be interested in:

CSM at the heart of customer satisfaction at Neovacom

CSM at the heart of customer satisfaction at Neovacom

The CSM, or Customer Success Manager, helps customers to get to grips with the Freedz platform (a product of Neovacom). As a privileged contact for customers, he or she is often a key player in customer follow-up and helps build customer loyalty. Ondine...

read more
Collected VAT: what do I need to know?

Collected VAT: what do I need to know?

As a major source of government revenue, VAT must be properly managed to comply with regulations and avoid financial penalties, enabling companies to maintain competitive prices while ensuring profitability. Playing a key role in the...

read more
Share This

Comptabilité fournisseur : plaidoyer pour en finir avec la gestion manuelle des factures

Le traitement des données de la comptabilité est un travail chronophage, quelle que soit la taille de l’entreprise. L’une des missions les plus fastidieuses est, sans aucun doute, la saisie des factures fournisseurs.

Entre le temps alloué, la gestion des aléas, les pertes d’infos, les transferts et les demandes d’approbation, le temps passé sur la gestion de la facturation est colossal. En tant que professionnel de la comptabilité, vous êtes, sans doute, déjà convaincu que la technologie peut vous aider à réduire le temps perdu sur ces tâches. Mais qu’en est-il de votre direction ?

Responsable comptable, voici l’ensemble des arguments pour convaincre votre direction et lui prouver que la comptabilité est aussi un service qui peut se digitaliser efficacement.

Comptabilité fournisseur plaidoyer

1 – Une collecte automatique des factures fournisseurs et des data

Malgré les nombreux outils de gestion de la comptabilité, nombreuses sont les entreprises qui peinent à se passer du papier. Quand ces dernières réussissent à digitaliser leur facturation, c’est souvent du côté de la collecte et de la validation qu’elles perdent encore le plus de temps. Finalement, dans de nombreux cas, la gestion manuelle des factures est souvent indispensable.

En effet, sans outil de gestion pour le traitement ou l’extraction automatique des données de facturation, l’intérêt de la dématérialisation est moindre.

Plusieurs solutions sont néanmoins possibles afin d’aller plus loin :

  • La lecture automatique de document : également appelée LAD ou OCR, cette solution est très répandue et permet d’extraire quasi-automatiquement les informations clés d’une facture ou d’une pièce comptable telles que les montants, la date, la TVA, etc. Néanmoins, elle présente un point faible : l’extraction de ces données nécessite obligatoirement une validation humaine.
  • Outil de facturation électronique : il s’agit ici d’un document généré électroniquement et répondant à toutes les règles légales en matière de facturation. Enregistré dans un format que l’on dit « structuré », le document est automatiquement lu par les logiciels de gestion des factures qui peuvent ainsi extraire les informations, les trier et les filtrer sans aucune intervention manuelle. C’est la solution la plus aboutie en matière d’automatisation.
Comprendre et anticiper la généralisation de la facture électronique en 2023

2 – Comptabilité fournisseur : et si on réduisait les coûts ?

L’automatisation de la gestion représente également un gain financier important. En effet, même si l’achat ou l’abonnement à la solution peut représenter, à court terme, un investissement important pour l’entreprise, cette dernière pourra constater un rapide retour sur investissement.

Selon une étude Ernst & Young datant de 2020, le traitement d’une facture papier coûte en moyenne 15 euros, tandis que celle d’une facture dématérialisée s’élève à environ 5 euros. En choisissant de digitaliser la comptabilité fournisseur, vous pouvez donc diviser par trois les coûts liés à la gestion des factures. Il est donc facile d’imaginer le gain financier que cela peut représenter à grande échelle.

 

3 – Comptabilité fournisseur : dématérialiser pour gagner en rapidité

De nombreuses études ont montré que la dématérialisation des factures permettait de réduire en moyenne le temps de traitement de 75%. Cette gestion du temps et des tâches chronophages est un argument de poids à avancer auprès d’un dirigeant. Mais ce n’est pas le seul. La saisie et le contrôle automatisé, la fluidification du processus de validation, la réduction du temps de traitement des litiges et du temps de paiement des fournisseurs font aussi partie des nombreux avantages de l’automatisation.

De nombreuses entreprises se sont lancées dans la transformation digitale mais certaines n’ont pas encore réussi à optimiser tous leurs processus. En effet, le principal objectif de la transformation digitale est d’améliorer la performance des entreprises en automatisant les tâches les plus chronophages et à faible valeur ajoutée. La gestion manuelle des factures constitue ainsi un axe d’amélioration considérable. L’automatisation permet aux collaborateurs de se recentrer sur leur cœur d’activité afin d’accomplir des missions demandant une réelle expertise.

En outre, le règlement des factures fournisseurs en temps et en heure est particulièrement important puisqu’il pourra vous éviter d’éventuelles pénalités de retard voire vous permettre de négocier des remises en cas de paiement anticipé.

 

4 – Plus de sécurité dans les processus

Ce n’est plus à prouver. Le traitement papier des factures fournisseurs impose de nombreuses étapes (impression, scan, tri, archivage, etc.) au cours desquelles le taux d’erreur, de perte et de dégradation des documents peut également s’avérer important.

La dématérialisation des factures et l’automatisation permettent d’apporter une sécurité supplémentaire pour plusieurs raisons :

  • Réduction des étapes entre la collecte et le règlement de la facture,
  • Automatisation de la collecte et de l’extraction des données,
  • Fluidification des circuits de validation,
  • Contrôles automatiques pour garantir l’authenticité et la fiabilité de la facture,
  • Fiabilisation du stockage et de l’archivage

Les risques de fraudes et de litiges ainsi que les coûts liés à ces derniers sont ainsi considérablement réduits.

Pour conclure

En conclusion, la dématérialisation des factures apparaît plus que jamais essentielle, notamment face aux obligations imposées aux entreprises à l’horizon 2023-2025. Parallèlement, le passage à une solution de dématérialisation des factures est souvent impulsé par les services comptables. Ces derniers sont demandeurs d’outils qui permettent de libérer du temps pour s’atteler à des tâches à plus forte valeur ajoutée pour l’entreprise.

En somme, si vous ne deviez retenir que 4 arguments pour convaincre votre direction, ce seraient  :

  • Plus de temps libéré pour les tâches à valeur ajoutée,
  • Moins d’erreurs, de risques de litiges ou de fraudes,
  • Moins de pertes de documents et de données,
  • Plus de marge de négociation avec vos interlocuteurs

Autres articles qui pourraient vous intéresser :

L’oeil du DAF #1 – Laurent Michelet, DAF chez Matera

L’oeil du DAF #1 – Laurent Michelet, DAF chez Matera

Laurent Michelet est DAF chez Matera, la startup française qui permet aux copropriétaires de reprendre la main sur leur copro et de la gérer de façon autonome, sans avoir besoin de passer par un syndic. Nous l’avons rencontré alors que Matera vient de lever 35 M€ pour...

lire plus
Share This