Work situation: how to improve your supplier relations and gain in efficiency?

In the property and construction sector, there is a central document that can be a source of tension: the works order. While this allows a supplier to get paid as they go along rather than waiting until the job is finished, the process of handling it is complex.

Delays can therefore quickly accumulate and create friction. However, there are ways to smooth out these relationships and make them more efficient for everyone involved. Let's see how.

Work situation and supplier relations

Work situation: what is at stake for supplier relations?

The works situation is a central document for those involved in the construction and real estate industries. Indeed, it will allow the suppliers to invoice progressively the progress of the building site. Each work status invoice will establish a progress point in the site and allow suppliers to be paid progressively. A closing invoice will then be issued at the end of the project to complete the exchanges.

When you consider the duration of certain sites and the amounts invested by suppliers, you can see what is at stake with this document. It is hard to imagine craftsmen putting forward thousands of euros (or even tens of thousands) in raw materials and wages while waiting for the work to be completed in order to be paid.

The work progress invoice is therefore a central document for those involved in the construction industry as it allows them to recover cash as the work progresses. It therefore ensures the survival of their company.

However, dealing with this document is not that simple. Firstly, because there are many players involved. Let's take a common situation: the main supplier will receive invoices from his subcontractors. He will compile everything to issue a work progress invoice to the customer. But before being paid by the client, this progress invoice must be validated by the project manager, who will check that the degrees of progress invoiced correspond to the actual work. The situation finally reaches the client, who must process and pay it.

This is a long and complex process, in which all actors lack visibility. All this regularly leads to payment delays which can cause major friction between clients and suppliers. Complications that can even lead to the suspension of work and thus delay the site.

The guide to understanding and anticipating the generalisation of electronic invoicing in 2023

What are the deadlines for paying an invoice?

Just a reminder. France is one of the worst performers in the world when it comes to respecting payment deadlines. Before Covid, national companies were on average 11.5 days late. A sad observation that has probably not improved much since.

It is therefore easy to understand that payment periods are regularly a source of disputes. In relations between professionals, in the absence of a specific agreement, the maximum payment period is 30 days after the performance of the service. In the event of special negotiations, this period may be extended to 60 days or 45 days end of month.

Most of the time, it will therefore be a matter of paying suppliers within 30 days. This can be very complicated in the case of work situations. In this case, the client is completely dependent on the time taken by the project manager to validate the situation. Sometimes the client is not even aware that a situation has been issued and is awaiting validation. He therefore only receives it once it has been validated and sometimes already late...

Gaining efficiency to improve supplier relations

Now that we have established this, how can we improve everything and make customer-supplier relations more fluid? How can payment times be reduced and exchanges simplified? The main problems we raised earlier could be alleviated with two main improvements: more efficiency in exchanges and improved visibility on processing for all actors. Let's look at this in detail.

Dematerialising exchanges

As we have already mentioned, the exchanges are complex when dealing with a works situation. Especially as there may also be some back and forth between the supplier and the project manager before validation. One of the main points of friction in these exchanges comes from the fact that most situations are still exchanged on paper.

When there are round trips between the different actors, postal delays add up and make the exchanges more cumbersome. As in most processes, dematerialisation could bring major gains in efficiency and time. Indeed, going completely electronic for the transmission and processing of status invoices would considerably reduce delays. In addition, some of the input and processing steps could be automated.

A relatively large potential saving of time and therefore money for all actors, suppliers and customers alike.

Improving visibility for all stakeholders

As we have said, the client has no visibility of the invoices awaiting validation by the prime contractor. In the same way, the supplier has no visibility on the processing of his invoice once it has been sent to the latter. The two main parties concerned are therefore completely blind if the project manager takes time or forgets to validate the document.

Another area for improvement would therefore be to provide more visibility to the various players. By allowing them to dematerialise exchanges within a single platform, this would enable both the supplier and the customer to know where things stand. And therefore to be able to follow up on each other if things drag on. In short, to prevent conflict as early as possible.

This is exactly what we do with our work situation management module. Thanks to Freedz, the client simply allows his suppliers to submit work situations directly on the platform in a dematerialized way. The project manager is notified that he has to validate a situation on the platform and the client also sees this. Once validated, the situation is automatically transmitted to the client so that he can process and pay it. The supplier can follow the various stages of processing via his interface.

This is a way of improving efficiency and visibility for all the players and thus of calming relations around this document, which is so crucial for both parties.

Other articles you may be interested in:

What is accounting allocation?

What is accounting allocation?

The accounting allocation corresponds to the classification of each accounting transaction in one of the eight main categories predefined by the General Accounting Plan (GAAP). This technique makes it possible to assign the appropriate classification to each accounting transaction,...

read more

Our most popular free resources:

White paper, electronic invoicing: the essentials for a successful digital transformation of your accounts payable

White paper: the essentials for a successful digital transformation of your accounts payable

This white paper provides answers to the main questions you may have when making the transition to electronic invoicing, as well as the points to watch out for in order to successfully complete your project.

The guide to understanding and anticipating the generalisation of electronic invoicing in 2024

The Guide to 2024: everything you need to know about the widespread use of electronic invoicing

This guide contains all the information you need to understand the new legislation and to anticipate this change.

Halpades

Case Study: Improve Accounts Payable Efficiency While Maintaining Control

In order to improve its supplier relations and enhance the value of its employees' missions within the accounting department, Halpades has chosen to completely dematerialise its supplier invoices thanks to Freedz.

Share This

Situation de travaux : comment améliorer vos relations fournisseurs et gagner en efficacité ?

Dans le secteur de l’immobilier et du bâtiment, il existe un document central qui peut cristalliser les tensions : la situation de travaux. Si celle-ci permet à un fournisseur de se faire payer au fur et à mesure plutôt que d’attendre la fin du chantier, son processus de traitement est complexe.

Les retards peuvent donc vite s’accumuler et créer des frictions. Il existe pourtant des moyens d’apaiser ces relations et d’apporter plus d’efficacité à tous les acteurs. Voyons comment.

Situation de travaux et relation fournisseurs

Situation de travaux : quels enjeux pour les relations fournisseurs ?

La situation de travaux est un document central pour les acteurs du BTP et de l’immobilier. En effet, elle va permettre aux fournisseurs de facturer au fur et à mesure l’avancement du chantier. Chaque facture de situation de travaux va établir un point d’avancement dans le chantier et permettre aux fournisseurs de se faire payer progressivement. Une facture de clôture sera ensuite émise en fin de chantier pour finir de régulariser les échanges.

Quand on connaît la durée de certains chantiers et les montants investis par les fournisseurs, on perçoit bien tout l’enjeu autour de ce document. Difficile d’imaginer les artisans avancer des milliers d’euros (voire des dizaines de milliers) en matières premières et en salaires en attendant la fin des travaux pour se faire payer.

La facture de situation de travaux est donc un document central pour les acteurs du bâtiment car il leur permet de récupérer de la trésorerie au fur et à mesure de l’avancée des travaux. Donc d’assurer la survie de leur société.

Cependant, le traitement de ce document n’est pas si simple. D’abord car les acteurs impliqués sont nombreux. Prenons une situation courante : le fournisseur principal va recevoir des factures de la part de ses sous-traitants. Il va compiler le tout pour émettre une facture de situation de travaux à destination du client. Mais avant d’être payée par le client, cette facture de situation doit être validée par le maître d’œuvre qui va constater que les degrés d’avancement facturés correspondent bien à la réalité des travaux. La situation arrive finalement chez le client qui doit la traiter et la payer.

Un processus long et complexe, dans lequel tous les acteurs manquent de visibilité. Tout cela aboutit régulièrement à des retards de paiement qui peuvent être à l’origine de frictions importantes entre clients et fournisseurs. Des complications qui peuvent aller jusqu’à la suspension des travaux et donc retarder le chantier.

Le guide pour comprendre et anticiper la généralisation de la facture électronique en 2023

Quels sont les délais pour payer une facture ?

Petit rappel pour mémoire. La France fait partie des plus mauvais élèves au niveau mondial concernant le respect des délais de paiement. Pré-Covid, les entreprises nationales cumulaient en moyenne 11,5 jours de retard. Un triste constat qui n’a pas dû beaucoup s’améliorer depuis.

Dès lors, on comprend facilement que les délais de paiement sont régulièrement sources de litiges. Dans les relations entre professionnels, en l’absence d’accord particulier, le délai maximal de paiement s’élève à 30 jours après l’exécution de la prestation. En cas de négociation particulière, ce délai peut être rallongé dans la limite de 60 jours ou de 45 jours fin de mois.

La plupart du temps, il s’agira donc de régler ses fournisseurs dans un délai de 30 jours. Ce qui peut s’avérer très compliqué dans le cas des situations de travaux. En effet, dans ce cas, le client est complètement dépendant du temps que va mettre le maître d’œuvre pour valider la situation. Parfois, le client n’est même pas au courant qu’une situation a été émise et est en attente de validation. Il la reçoit donc seulement une fois validée et parfois déjà en retard…

Gagner en efficacité pour améliorer ses relations fournisseurs

Maintenant que nous avons posé ce constat, comment améliorer le tout et fluidifier les relations clients-fournisseurs ? Comment réduire les délais de paiement et simplifier les échanges ? Les principaux problèmes que nous avons soulevés précédemment pourraient être soulagés avec deux améliorations principales : plus d’efficacité dans les échanges et une amélioration de la visibilité sur le traitement pour tous les acteurs. Voyons cela en détail.

Dématérialiser les échanges

Nous l’avons rapidement évoqué, les échanges sont complexes lors du traitement d’une situation de travaux. D’autant qu’il peut également y avoir des allers-retours entre le fournisseur et le maître d’œuvre avant la validation. L’un des principaux points de friction dans ces échanges vient du fait que la plupart des situations sont encore échangées en papier.

Quand il doit y avoir des allers-retours entre les différents acteurs, les délais postaux se cumulent et viennent ajouter plus de lourdeurs aux échanges. Comme dans la plupart des processus, la dématérialisation pourrait apporter un gros gain d’efficacité et de temps. En effet, passer au tout électronique pour la transmission et le traitement des factures de situation viendrait considérablement réduire les délais. Sans compter que certaines étapes de saisie et de traitement seraient automatisables.

Un potentiel de gain de temps et donc d’argent relativement important pour tous les acteurs, fournisseurs comme clients.

Améliorer la visibilité pour tous les acteurs

Nous l’avons dit, le client n’a aucune visibilité sur les factures en attente de validation chez le maître d’œuvre. De la même manière, le fournisseur n’a aucune visibilité sur le traitement de sa facture une fois envoyée chez ce dernier. Les deux principaux concernés sont donc complètement à l’aveugle si le maître d’œuvre prend du temps ou oublie de valider le document.

Une autre piste d’amélioration viendrait donc du fait d’apporter plus de visibilité aux différents acteurs. En leur permettant de dématérialiser les échanges au sein d’une seule et même plateforme, cela permettrait au fournisseur comme au client de savoir où en sont les situations. Et donc de pouvoir relancer les uns et les autres si les choses venaient à traîner. Bref, de prévenir le conflit le plus tôt possible.

Cela tombe bien, c’est justement ce que nous faisons avec notre module de gestion des situations de travaux. Grâce à Freedz, le client permet simplement à ses fournisseurs de déposer les situations de travaux directement sur la plateforme de façon dématérialisée. Le maître d’œuvre est averti qu’il doit valider une situation sur la plateforme et le client le voit également. Une fois validée, la situation est automatiquement transmise au client pour qu’il puisse la traiter et la payer. De son côté, le fournisseur peut suivre les différentes étapes du traitement via son interface.

Un moyen de gagner en efficacité et en visibilité pour tous les acteurs et donc d’apaiser les relations autour de ce document si crucial pour les uns et les autres.

Autres articles qui pourraient vous intéresser :

Archivage à valeur légale, de quoi parle-t-on ?
Tout comprendre sur le caractère légal d’une facture

Nos ressources gratuites les plus populaires :

Livre blanc, facture électronique : l'essentiel pour réussir la transformation numérique de votre comptabilité fournisseurs
Le guide pour comprendre et anticiper la généralisation de la facture électronique en 2024
Halpades
Share This