Overview of electronic invoicing in Europe

In line with European recommendations, the use of e-invoicing for B2G transactions has grown significantly in Europe. Indeed, Directive 2014/55/EU requires public entities to be able to receive electronic invoices since 2020. On the B2B side, some countries such as Italy and Finland are leading the way, while others such as France and Belgium are preparing to take the plunge by making it mandatory for B2B. An overview of electronic invoicing in Europe.

Overview of electronic invoicing in Europe

Electronic invoicing in Europe: varied practices that are tending to harmonize

Although practices relating to electronic invoicing vary from one European country to another, they are tending to harmonize.

Italy, Finland: pioneers in electronic invoicing

Italy stands out in Europe as the pioneering state in e-invoicing, with the implementation of a dedicated platform (the SDI) even before the intervention of Directive 2014/55/EU. As early as 2014, Italy made e-invoicing mandatory for public sector organizations (B2G) and gradually rolled out the Sistema di Interscambio (SDI). Starting in 2019, the obligation has been extended to private companies (B2B and B2C). In B2B, the receipt of electronic invoices is subject to an accreditation procedure by the SDI. In most cases, this involves identifying the recipient by transmitting a unique code.

Finland is also a European example in the use of electronic invoicing. For the public sector, receiving invoices in electronic format only became mandatory in 2020, with the implementation of Directive 2014/55/EU. However, Finnish administrations already expressed their preference for this invoicing format ten years earlier. In the private sector, electronic invoicing is also widely used even though it has not yet been made mandatory.

The case of Norway is part of the same dynamic. While the use of electronic invoicing is only mandatory in public procurement, it is growing rapidly in the private sector.

    practical sheet electronic invoice

    France: electronic invoicing mandatory from 2024 in B2B

    In France, electronic invoicing has been provided for by law since 1990 (see Law no. 90-1169 of December 29, 1990, art. 47), well before the adoption of European measures. It is mandatory in B2G, in the framework of public procurement, since 2020. The specific Chorus Pro portal has been set up for this purpose. In the private sector, the obligation to use electronic invoicing will be progressively applied to B2B actors as of 2024 (see Finance Law for 2020 and Order of September 15, 2021). Initially imposed on private companies in reception, it will cover all B2B exchanges in 2026.

    In the same logic, in Belgium, electronic invoicing is an obligation in B2G, for public administrations and their suppliers. In the private sector, its use remains for the moment based on individual will, although the government has expressed its intention to make it mandatory for B2B exchanges.

    Germany, Spain: mandatory electronic invoicing in B2G and on a voluntary basis in B2B

    The use of electronic invoicing is only mandatory in Germany for B2G. Specifically, it is mandatory for public administrations and suppliers of the federal government and the state of Bremen. In B2B, the use of e-invoicing is voluntary for private companies, who are required to obtain the consent of their business partner for this purpose.

    The same is true in Sweden, where e-invoicing is only mandatory for public procurement and remains voluntary in the B2B domain.

    In the same vein, electronic invoicing is not yet mandatory for B2G in Luxembourg. However, the government has started work to make it mandatory for suppliers of public administrations. In B2B, it remains based on the voluntary nature of private actors.

    In Spain, the approach is similar: it is mandatory in B2G, and suppliers to public administrations are required to send their invoices to the General Entry Point for Electronic Invoices (PGEFe) to which the various administrations are connected. In B2B, electronic data interchange (EDI) with electronic signature dominates relations between private parties. Electronic invoicing therefore remains in the background, even though it has become mandatory in exchanges between major contractors and subcontractors in public markets since 2018.

    Finally, some European countries remain on the bangs of the movement towards the generalization of the obligation of electronic invoicing. These include Switzerland, Denmark, Ireland and Croatia, which have only adopted e-invoicing in the context of B2G relations.

    practical sheet electronic invoice

    From B2G to B2B: how the PEPPOL network promotes the harmonization of electronic invoicing in Europe

     

    The PEPPOL network (Pan-European Public Procurement OnLine) allows the standardized and secure processing of electronic transactions of international actors, whether they are in the public or private sector. The network guarantees both the interoperability of the different electronic invoicing systems and the conformity of the invoices to the national and international standards in force. In practice, access is provided through secure Access Points, of which more than 200 of the 300 in the world are located in Europe.

    If, at the beginning, the PEPPOL network was intended for invoicing in the B2G field, it is gradually becoming a reference in the B2B sector and tends, in this respect, to harmonize practices in the field of electronic invoicing.

    The major challenge that the PEPPOL network answers is that, for the international actors, to be able to rely on a reliable network facilitating the exchanges between all the systems of dematerialization of the invoices. The PEPPOL network is indeed the right answer to these needs, as it guarantees the handling of all B2G and B2B invoices, the conformity of the exchanges with the national and international standards related to the dematerialization of invoices and the standardization of the exchanges of the public and private sectors.

    Electronic invoicing is already a major issue in Europe. From 2024, it will be an obligation for all French companies. Freedz, future dematerialization platform partner (PDP), will accompany you in this transition. So don't wait any longer to adopt an innovative and secure solution for your electronic invoices: contact us!

    Other articles you may be interested in:

    5 good practices to end late payments

    5 good practices to end late payments

    Late payments are a real scourge for companies: according to the quarterly BVA barometer for the Payment Delays Crisis Committee published in February 2021, 13% of the companies surveyed have noted a lengthening of settlements compared to the...

    read more
    Invoice dematerialization: the ultimate guide

    Invoice dematerialization: the ultimate guide

    Digitalisation is becoming an increasingly important part of our daily lives, both personally and professionally: mail has been replaced by e-mail, shopping by e-commerce, books by e-books... The rise of digital technology has thus led to the dematerialisation of a large number of...

    read more
    What is supplier sourcing?

    What is supplier sourcing?

    Do you know what supplier sourcing is? Does this term vaguely ring a bell? Yet you may already be doing it without knowing it. Supplier sourcing is an important step in your purchasing cycle. Indeed, under this fashionable anglicism, you can find...

    read more

    Our most popular free resources:

    White paper, electronic invoicing: the essentials for a successful digital transformation of your accounts payable

    White paper: the essentials for a successful digital transformation of your accounts payable

    This white paper provides answers to the main questions you may have when making the transition to electronic invoicing, as well as the points to watch out for in order to successfully complete your project.

    The guide to understanding and anticipating the generalisation of electronic invoicing in 2024

    The Guide to 2024: everything you need to know about the widespread use of electronic invoicing

    This guide contains all the information you need to understand the new legislation and to anticipate this change.

    Halpades

    Case Study: Improve Accounts Payable Efficiency While Maintaining Control

    In order to improve its supplier relations and enhance the value of its employees' missions within the accounting department, Halpades has chosen to completely dematerialise its supplier invoices thanks to Freedz.

    Share This

Tour d’horizon de la facturation électronique en Europe

Conformément aux recommandations européennes, l’utilisation de la facturation électronique dans le cadre de transactions en B2G s’est fortement développée en Europe. La Directive 2014/55/UE impose en effet aux entités publiques d’être en mesure de recevoir des factures électroniques depuis 2020. Du côté du B2B, certains pays tels que l’Italie ou la Finlande font figure de précurseurs, tandis que d’autres comme la France ou la Belgique s’apprêtent à franchir le pas en la rendant obligatoire en B2B. Tour d’horizon de la facturation électronique en Europe.

Tour d'horizon de la facturation électronique en Europe

Facturation électronique en Europe : des pratiques variées qui tendent à s’harmoniser

Si les pratiques relatives à la facturation électronique varient d’un État européen à l’autre, elles tendent néanmoins à s’harmoniser.

Italie, Finlande : pionniers en matière de facturation électronique

L’Italie s’impose en Europe comme l’État précurseur en matière de facturation électronique, avec la mise en place d’une plateforme dédiée (le SDI) avant même l’intervention de la Directive 2014/55/UE. Dès 2014, l’Italie a rendu la facturation électronique obligatoire pour les organismes du secteur public (B2G) et a progressivement déployé le Sistema di Interscambio (SDI). Dès 2019, l’obligation a été étendue aux entreprises privées (B2B et B2C). En B2B, la réception de factures électroniques est soumise à une procédure d’accréditation par le SDI. Il s’agit, le plus souvent, d’une identification du destinataire via la transmission d’un code unique.

La Finlande fait également figure d’exemple européen dans l’utilisation de la facturation électronique. Concernant le secteur public, la réception de factures au format électronique n’est devenue obligatoire qu’en 2020, avec la mise en œuvre de la Directive 2014/55/UE. Pourtant, les administrations finlandaises manifestaient déjà, dix ans plus tôt, leur préférence pour ce format de facturation. Dans le secteur privé, la facturation électronique est également largement répandue alors même qu’elle n’a pas encore été rendue obligatoire.

Le cas de la Norvège s’inscrit dans la même dynamique. Alors que l’utilisation de la facture électronique y est obligatoire uniquement dans le cadre des marchés publics, elle connaît une forte croissance dans le secteur privé.

    France : la facture électronique rendue obligatoire à partir de 2024 en B2B

    En France, la facture électronique est prévue par la loi depuis 1990 (v. Loi n° 90-1169 du 29 décembre 1990, art. 47), bien avant l’adoption des mesures européennes. Elle y est obligatoire en B2G, dans le cadre des marchés publics, depuis 2020. Le portail spécifique Chorus Pro a été mis en place à cette fin. Concernant le secteur privé, l’obligation de facturation électronique sera progressivement appliquée aux acteurs du B2B dès 2024 (v. Loi de finances pour 2020 et Ordonnance du 15 septembre 2021). D’abord imposée aux entreprises privées en réception, elle couvrira tous les échanges relevant du B2B en 2026.

    Dans la même logique, en Belgique, la facturation électronique est une obligation en B2G, à l’égard des administrations publiques et de leurs fournisseurs. Dans le secteur privé, son utilisation reste pour l’heure fondée sur la volonté individuelle, bien que le gouvernement ait manifesté son intention de la rendre obligatoire pour les échanges en B2B.

    fiche pratique facture électronique

    Allemagne, Espagne : facturation électronique obligatoire en B2G et sur la base du volontariat en B2B

    L’utilisation de la facture électronique est obligatoire, en Allemagne, uniquement en B2G. Plus précisément, elle est imposée aux administrations publiques et aux fournisseurs du gouvernement fédéral et du Land de Brême. En B2B, son utilisation repose sur la volonté des entreprises privées, qui sont tenues d’obtenir le consentement de leur partenaire à cette fin.

    Il en va de même en Suède, où la facturation électronique est obligatoire uniquement dans le cadre des marchés publics et reste basée sur le volontariat dans le domaine du B2B.

    Dans la même dynamique, la facturation électronique n’est pas encore obligatoire en B2G au Luxembourg. Le gouvernement a toutefois engagé des travaux afin de l’imposer aux fournisseurs des administrations publiques. En B2B, elle demeure fondée sur le volontariat des acteurs privés.

    En Espagne, l’approche est similaire : elle est obligatoire en B2G, et les fournisseurs des administrations publiques sont tenus de transmettre leurs factures au Point d’entrée général pour les factures électroniques (PGEFe) auquel sont connectées les différentes administrations. En B2B, les échanges de données informatisés (EDI) avec signature électronique dominent les relations entre les acteurs privés. La facture électronique reste donc en retrait, même si elle est devenue obligatoire dans les échanges entre les principaux contractants et sous-traitants des marchés publics depuis 2018.

    Enfin, certains États européens demeurent en marge du mouvement tendant à la généralisation de l’obligation de la facturation électronique. Il s’agit notamment de la Suisse, du Danemark, de l’Irlande ou de la Croatie, qui ne l’ont adoptée que dans le cadre des relations en B2G.

     

    Du B2G au B2B : comment le réseau PEPPOL favorise l’harmonisation de la facture électronique en Europe

     

    Le réseau PEPPOL (Pan-European Public Procurement OnLine) permet le traitement standardisé et sécurisé des transactions électroniques des acteurs internationaux, qu’ils relèvent du domaine public ou privé. Le réseau garantit à la fois l’interopérabilité des différents systèmes de facturation électronique et la conformité des factures aux normes nationales et internationales en vigueur. En pratique, l’accès s’effectue par le biais de Points d’Accès sécurisés, dont plus de 200 sur les 300 existants dans le monde se situent en Europe.

    Si, à l’origine, le réseau PEPPOL était destiné à la facturation dans le domaine du B2G, il s’impose progressivement comme une référence dans le secteur du B2B et tend, à cet égard, à harmoniser les pratiques en matière de facturation électronique.

    L’enjeu majeur auquel répond le réseau PEPPOL est celui, pour les acteurs internationaux, de pouvoir s’appuyer sur un réseau fiable facilitant les échanges entre tous les systèmes de dématérialisation des factures. Le réseau PEPPOL est en effet tout indiqué pour répondre à ces besoins, dans la mesure où il garantit la prise en charge de l’ensemble des factures en B2G et B2B, la conformité des échanges avec les normes nationales et internationales relatives à la dématérialisation des factures et la standardisation des échanges des secteurs publics et privés.

    La facturation électronique est déjà un enjeu majeur en Europe. Dès 2024, il s’agira d’une obligation pour toutes les entreprises françaises. Freedz, future plateforme de dématérialisation partenaire (PDP), vous accompagne dans cette transition. Alors, n’attendez plus pour adopter une solution innovante et sécurisée pour vos factures électroniques : contactez-nous !

    Autres articles qui pourraient vous intéresser :

    Nos ressources gratuites les plus populaires :

    Livre blanc, facture électronique : l'essentiel pour réussir la transformation numérique de votre comptabilité fournisseurs

    Livre blanc : l'essentiel pour réussir la transformation digitale de sa comptabilité fournisseurs

    Ce livre blanc apporte les réponses aux principales questions que vous vous posez au moment d’aborder le passage à la facture électronique, ainsi que les points de vigilance à avoir pour mener à bien votre projet.

    Le guide pour comprendre et anticiper la généralisation de la facture électronique en 2024

    Le Guide pour 2024 : tout savoir sur la généralisation de la facture électronique

    Retrouvez dans ce guide toutes les informations nécessaires pour comprendre la nouvelle législation et anticiper ce changement.

    Halpades

    Cas client : Améliorer l’efficacité de la comptabilité fournisseurs tout en gardant le contrôle

    Afin d’améliorer ses relations fournisseurs et revaloriser les missions de ses collaborateurs au sein de la comptabilité, Halpades a fait le choix de la dématérialisation complète des factures fournisseurs grâce à Freedz.

    Share This